THE NEXT BIG THING!

12/23/2012

 
Picture
THE NEXT BIG THING: Find out what I’m doing with a Greek god.

I’ve been tagged by The Next Big Thing. Thanks Annie for giving me the chance to play. I love games! In this game we play ten questions rather than twenty. I’ll start by introducing myself. Perky, Sandy L. Rowland is the author of paranormal and fantasy romance. My vampires are dark and dangerous. My Greek gods are fun and sexy as hell.

Let the game begin.

Annie’s blog link:

http://www.annieadamstheauthor.com/the-blog.html

What is the working title of your book?

APOLLO’S GIFT

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I love mythology.  One day, I was watching the old classic, Clash Of The Titans, and thought, why not write a romance about a sexy Greek god? I want to read that book.

What genre does your book fall under?

Fantasy romance. It’s current time, but Greek mythology and history figure into the story.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

That’s tough. The closest guy for Apollo would have to be “Sawyer,” Josh Holloway from the T.V. series, Lost, minus the southern drawl. Apollo is the sexy god of light and prophecy with a mane of golden hair and piercing blue eyes. Anne Hathoway would play Cassie. She’s beautiful, sassy and yet vulnerable.

What is the one sentence synopsis for your book?

His gift comes with a price and only her love can pay it.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published, but I’m open to a great offer. Wink.

How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript?

You may not believe this, but three days. It was a dare from a friend and a group of us chained ourselves to our computers endless hours to meet our goal of a rough draft. Rewrites were many. But damn, this turned out to be a great story.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

All I can do is list some of my favorite author’s in the fantasy/paranormal genre and hope this work is as entertaining. L. L. Muir, Melissa Mayhue, Kissee Mark, Terry Spear and Alexis Morgan. Some do time travel. Apollo is not time travel, but it is a fun read spiced with sexual tension.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Greek mythology has always drawn me. The story of Cassandra, the failed prophetess of Troy, is heart wrenching. I had to write about the doomed romance between her and Apollo and give them another chance at love in the present.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

This is the first book in my Greek god’s series. I want to get into the lost loves of the gods. The central characters are all Olympian deities ruled by their father, Zeus.  It’s a powerful and highly dysfunctional family. LOL. I hope it’s relatable in that way.

                                                                        * * *

Here’s an excerpt from APOLLO’S GIFT:

His hot breath tickled her ear, sending shivers down to her toes. John was cute, fun, and distracting her from her purpose. She nodded, afraid her voice would squeak a reply. His clean scent wrapped around her like a warm towel fresh from the drier. Breathing in, she filled her lungs with him, and memorized the perfume of rugged man and soap. Cassie stared at his eyes, but her gaze drifted to the space between his firm jaw and straight nose. His mouth intrigued her as he spoke, but she couldn’t focus on the words. Each movement of his delectable lips distracted her mind. Imagination took over and she visualized how his mouth would feel on hers. Would his kiss be soft or firm and demanding?

Check out Annie’s link above.

APOLLO’S GIFT will be available this winter..


12/24/2012 12:15:41 am

I love your picks for characters. Josh Holloway and Ann Hathaway would have some dynamite chemistry. So nice to see you sharing your WIP. Mythology fascinates me. Can't wait to read it:-)

12/24/2012 01:52:42 am

Thanks for stopping by. It's a fun story, and the characters do have chemistry.
I'm in love with Apollo too.

L.L. Muir
12/24/2012 12:35:44 am

Cool! Can't wait to read this. Seriously.

12/24/2012 01:54:47 am

It's a fun story and not dark like Conquered.
I hope you enjoy it and thank you so much for all your support and wisdom. You are a shining star!

12/26/2012 07:36:43 am

Your chance is coming soon. Hope for mid January.
Thanks for the support!

12/24/2012 12:48:17 am

looking forward to this book--I've always been a little in love with Apollo.

12/24/2012 01:56:06 am

This Apollo is worthy of your affection. He has mine. Thanks for checking in during the holidays. I so appreciate the support.

12/24/2012 02:49:45 am

Great interview!! Congratulations on your book!

12/24/2012 03:10:25 am

Thank you, Ella! And congratulations on your multiple success. You give me hope.

Merry Christmas, Sweety.

12/24/2012 04:19:31 am

Sandy, the book sounds marvelous! I look forward to picking it up. Merry Christmas!

12/24/2012 10:36:24 am

Thank you for checking it out.I appreciate your support. And a very Merry Christmas to you and best success in the new year.

12/25/2012 02:05:21 am

Sounds like a great read. Greek mythology has always intriqued me. I wish you much success with the book!

12/25/2012 03:02:57 am

Thanks for stopping by. It's a crazy time of year to be posting this. And I wish you great success with your work.
Hugs and Merry Christmas!

12/25/2012 09:23:49 pm

I've always loved the Greek myths your idea of setting them in modern times is intriguing. When will this be available?

12/26/2012 02:14:04 am

The first book should be out by the end of January, earlier if I can swing it. Thanks for the support. I'll be posting the cover soon. Yummy!

12/26/2012 02:02:34 am

Awesome! The concept for your series has me intriqued - why didn't they include romance (and sexual tension) with Greek Mythology in school? I might have paid better attention! Sounds fun, and I really am excited to get to read it. (where's the cover, girl??)

12/26/2012 02:16:34 am

A little sex makes everything more interesting. Grin.
The cover is close to finished. Not sure of my tag line for the cover.
I'll share when I have it, but I will say it is tasty. I think we all would have read mythology if the book cover looked like Apollo.
Kelli Anne did an awesome job!

Donna Coe-Velleman
12/26/2012 04:02:54 am

Great one sentence synopsis - tickled my interest for sure. : ) Best of luck with it.

12/26/2012 07:38:02 am

Thanks for the input. I'll take the luck. In this industry, all help and good thoughts are useful.
And the best on your writing success!


Comments are closed.